To join Southport Cycling Club or to renew your membership please click on the following link.

Join Southport Cycling Club

Upcoming Events

7:00 pm SCC AGM 2023
SCC AGM 2023
Dec 4 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
This Notice advises that the Southport Cycling Club AGM will be held on Monday 4th December 2023 At the Club Room, Rotten Row Starting at If you have any proposals/ would like to see[...]

Boxing Day Time Trial 2013

Around riders were getting ready to leave home, checking bikes and selecting clothing – cold but dry and looking possibly sunny. By 10.00am a heavy rain shower had possibly dampened the enthusiasm and certainly changed the equipment options for some of the (less serious) potential competitors.

 A group of 9 riders gathered at the club house. Alan Stark and Dave Ritchie had brought their wet weather gear and so the ritual signing on pre-amble to the 13 or 17 minutes of pleasure or pain (depending on your view point) got underway, closely followed by the fixing of numbers. In some cases the numbers were under the rain capes – for the less serious the numbers on the outside.

There was alot of riding up and down Rotten Row as the competitors waited for the marshalls to assume their positions and then shortly after the first rider was off. The full on TT bikes now came into their own – with the three best times for the day all beating the 2011 winning time of 14:06.

The winner on the day was Dave Bolland, a guest rider here for Christmas from Lincolnshire – youth obviously an adavantage – with Eddie Marshall as SCCs Boxing Day TT Champion for 2013.

Well Done Eddie and thanks to all the marshalls and helpers.



Boxing Day Time Trial
Start No. Name(Age) Club Actual Time Finish Position Finish SCC Members
1 Ray Lyon (46) S.C.C. 17:41 8 6
2 Geoff Caton (64) S.C.C. 16:40 6 4
3 Steve Duffel (56) S.C.C. 14:40 5 3
4 Allan Taylor (64) S.C.C. 17:47 9 7
5 Eddie Marshall (51) S.C.C. 13:12 2 1
6 Ian Bailey (48) S.C.C. 14:37 4 2
7 Matt Burdekin (23) Cover Your 13:19 3
8 Mike Lloyd (39) S.C.C. 16:42 7 5
9 David Bolland (17) Liverpool Mercury- Dolan 13:01 1
Timekeepers Alan Stark
Dave Ritchie
Marshals Mike Bolland
Ken Beck
Bob Robson
Neil Robinson

Leave a Reply