To join Southport Cycling Club or to renew your membership please click on the following link.

Join Southport Cycling Club

Upcoming Events

7:00 pm SCC AGM 2023
SCC AGM 2023
Dec 4 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
This Notice advises that the Southport Cycling Club AGM will be held on Monday 4th December 2023 At the Club Room, Rotten Row Starting at If you have any proposals/ would like to see[...]

Road Bike Challenge – 10 mile TT

A total of 9 riders braved cool and very blustery conditions for the inaugural event on the new D33/10 time trial course.

As you can tell from the times, conditions were anything but ideal.

Fastest time was by Martin Bailey, 25.27, closely followed by Conor McKinnon with 25.45. Tom Sparkes was third overall and fastest Junior with 27.11, whilst Tom Williams was 4th and fastest Vet on standard with 27.35.  Maddie Scott was fastest (only) Female with 28.36.  Young Adam Dillon (14) did a creditable 29.40, closely followed by Mile Lloyd with 29.42, and Neil Laing with 29.45.  Bill Sedgwick was the oldest competitor with a time of 32.32 — To put the tough conditions in to context, Bill did a 27.59 in wet and breezy conditions 2 weeks ago in the NLTTA combined clubs event on the much slower Winmarleigh course, so I think its safe to say Martin’s Course Record will not stand for very long.

The event was relatively incident free – however marshals report that ideally we should have 3 marshals at Banks R/A and 2 at Mere Brow R/A

After the event we adjourned to Twin Lakes Velo Cafe for some well earned refreshment.

Thanks to all who turned out to ride, and to the marshals and helpers for making the event happen.

Timekeepers were Dave Ritchie and Alan Stark.  Starter – Irene Gunn, Pusher Off and Recorder – Jim Gunn, Course Marshals – Ken Davies, El Prez, Greg Ryecroft and Brian Leach.  It was good to see Dave Morgan and Lennie Collins giving encouragement to the riders as they approached the finish.



Comments are closed.