To join Southport Cycling Club or to renew your membership please click on the following link.

Join Southport Cycling Club

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events.

Southport Cycling Club’s 85th Annual Dinner and Prize Presentation

Report by Colin Balwin

The Ramada Hotel on the Promenade was the chosen venue for the 85th edition of the Southport Cycling Club’s annual dinner and prize presentation. The hotel has recently been built on the site of the iconic Floral Hall Gardens.

Some 54 years ago in 1963, at the Royal Clifton Hotel I was receiving my award as a Junior Club Champion  from the legendary Brian Robinson a famous Tour de France rider. Fast forward to 2017, now attained the office of Club President and as such have the task of announcing the prize and award winners.

It seemed a fitting tribute for our Club Secretary Kenny Beck to present the prizes as he is standing down after serving the club for over 30 years in office and having been a member for over 60 years, during which time he has organised countless races, most notably the Youth events still held annually on Victoria Park.

Our youngest ever Social Secretary Aaron Green 19yrs, relished the task of organising the function, certainly a stressful time for a young man. Our function room was decked out with blue and yellow balloons together with matching serviettes and menu cards all in club colours, very spectacular and drew many favourable comments from the assembled diners.

Prize winners duly collected their awards and were photographed by James Holloway who at 15yrs of age must be the youngest ‘snapper’ around.

The raffle was drawn with some super prizes on offer which had been donated from local shops and Aaron’s mum who made some spectacular sweet displays.

After which saw the usual suspects dancing to the disco music, whilst others engaged in conversation and re-lived memories of the past year on the bike and in particular the October visit to Majorca.

Thanks again Aaron for a memorable night.

The main prize winners were:-

Neil Laing – Club best all rounder and winner of the Norman Rimmer Handicap Trophy.
Peter Leonard – Short distance all rounder and Vets 10 mile time trial.
Martin Bailey – 10 mile time trial-Neil Smith memorial 25 trophy.
Maddy Scott – Senior road race.
Peter Gawthorne – Audax trophy

Colin Baldwin
Club President.

Click here for photos of the evening