To join Southport Cycling Club or to renew your membership please click on the following link.

Join Southport Cycling Club

Upcoming Events

7:00 pm SCC AGM 2023
SCC AGM 2023
Dec 4 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
This Notice advises that the Southport Cycling Club AGM will be held on Monday 4th December 2023 At the Club Room, Rotten Row Starting at If you have any proposals/ would like to see[...]

Boxing Day Time Trial 2016 Report

The usual mutterings about hangovers was evident in the club room prior to signing on, however it didn’t deter the David ready to set off 14 hardy souls who braved the howling gales from the sea across the sand hills and turned up to test their strength and pit their wits against the clock for the annual festive time trial jaunt down the Coast Road to Pontins Roundabout and back, the field included our 5 times National Hill Climb champ Jim Henderson piloting a tandem with wife Lou as ‘stoker’.

Good to see some ‘new’ riders having a go against the watch for the first time and Andrew (Zebedee) Bristow now recovered from his epic marathon ride through Europe and Africa. Ainsdale and return must have been a doddle in comparison.

Will White who was in attendance but a non-starter, obviously keeping his ‘powder’ dry until the season proper commences.

Fastest rider was rising star 15yr old David Unsworth who narrowly held off the ‘one lap wonder’ Eddie O’Brien.
Big thanks to timekeepers Dave Ritchie (dressed in a kilt for the occasion) and Derek Unsworth..Marshals Mr&Mrs Pete Leonard.

Catering courtesy of Margaret Sims and Christmas cake/mince pies provided Ken Beck and Pete Leonard. Also a good turnout of spectators to witness the suffering.

Results and photos courtesy Mike Lloyd.

Well done everyone and all the best for the New Season.

Colin Baldwin

Click here for more photos

David Unsworth 13.15
Jim Henderson & Lou Henderson (on a Tandem) 13.37
Eddie O’Brien 14.06
Peter Tindell 15.02
Neil Laing 15.08
Ian Robinson 15.09
Andy Bristow 15.57
Mike Lloyd 16.40
Tony Lomax 16.58
Scott Cosgrove 17.07
John Edwards 17.55
Rob Rix 19.48
Mike Turner 22.30